Free Sports Bets Events > Cricket >
ICC Cricket World Cup

Lords image

LORDS held the first final of the international one-day cricket competion

The International Cricket Council is the international governing body of cricket and among its responsibilities organises international cricket tournaments.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the ICC’s flagship one-day cricket event and was first held in England in 1975 when the great West Indies one day side of the day beat Australia in the final at Lords. The event is held every four years and the first three Cricket World Cups were held in England before being taken around the world when jointly hosted by India and Pakistan in 1987. Due to the shorter daylight hours in the Indian subcontinent, matches were reduced from 60 overs to 50 overs contests and has remained the case since.

One day cricket has a big worldwide following and the ICC World Cup is broadcast to over 180 countries and is followed by millions of people on TV, the internet and other media. The exciting one day format lends itself well to betting enthusiasts and online bookmakers see a surge in cricket betting throughout the tournament, especially from Asia where cricket is one the most popular spectator sports.

Free Cricket Bets for the ICC World Cup

All major online bookmakers offer betting odds on the ICC Cricket World Cup and will happily accept free bets on any of the betting markets on the event. Many online bettors will open accounts specifically to bet on their favourite teams and players and will qualify for the free bets offered by online bookmakers to welcome new customers.

Bestfreebets provides up to date information about the best free bet offers from the best online bookmakers including free bet promotions aimed specifically at cricket fans. Gamblers looking to add to the excitement of watching ICC Cricket World Cup matches will find they can bet on the match winner, top bowler, top batsman among other special betting markets and could find themselves qualifying for some of the best free cricket bets thanks to bookmaker’s promotions.

Betting tips for the ICC Cricket World Cup

It makes sense for internet gamblers to open accounts with a number of different online bookmakers. The introductory free bet offers alone will provide a big boost to the winning chances of cricket fans betting on the World Cup matches and by comparing the best odds available will find added value in holding multiple betting accounts.

International one day cricket has been dominated by Australia since the 1990s and by 2007 had won the ICC Cricket World Cup four times and finished runner-up twice. West Indies have won it twice with England, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka winning once each, leaving just South Africa and New Zealand among the Test playing nations, yet to win the event.

Emerging cricket nations are encouraged to participate as the ICC look to develop cricket around the world by encouraging interest in the one day format. The betting odds often suggest the bigger nations will be certainties when playing the lesser nations who have little experience of competing at the high level of the Cricket World Cup.

However caution is advised as there have been some shocks that have proved expensive to gamblers willing to risk high stakes for a small win at the short odds offered by the bookmakers. In the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, Ireland had the bookmakers celebrating when beating Pakistan by 3 wickets at Sabina Park in Jamaica and on the same day Bangladesh created chaos when beating India by 5 wickets in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

When it is necessary for the bigger sides to win against the underdog nations in order to qualify for the next stage of the tournament, you can bet with more confidence as the players are sure to have their minds on the task in hand.

Date Winner Venue
1975 West Indies England
1979 West Indies England
1983 India England
1987 Australia India, Pakistan
1992 Pakistan Australia, New Zealand
1996 Sri Lanka India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
1999 Australia England, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland
2003 Australia Kenya, South Africa, Zimbabwe
2007 Australia West Indies


ICC Cricket World Cup Betting News & Tips

Cricket Tip: Ashes Third Test
England and Australia arrive at Old Trafford with the Ashes test cricket series 2-0 in favour of the hosts ...

read more »

Cricket Tip: Ashes Second Test
If the first Ashes test was anything to go by then we are in for a thrilling series and ...

read more »

The Ashes 2013: Top Batsmen Tips
We take a look at the leading contenders for England and Australia's Top Batsmen in the Ashes test cricket ...

read more »

Cricket Tip: The Ashes
The Ashes is almost upon us and we have some cricket betting tips for you ahead of an exciting ...

read more »

Stan James Cricket Betting Offers
Punters can receive up to £250 free bets on Stan James for betting on cricket top batsman markets. Stan ...

read more »

Free Bets for England Twenty20 International
England look to restore some pride in the final leg of their tour and are 11/8 to win the ...

read more »

Free Bets for England to win ODI series in India
The England one-day side has warmed up with two comfortable victories in Hyderabad and is available at odds of ...

read more »

Collingwood and Prior dropped from England one-day squad
Former captain Paul Collingwood and wicketkeeper Matt Prior have been dropped from England’s one-day squad for the forthcoming matches ...

read more »

Ponting resigns as Australia captain
Ricky Ponting announced his resignation as captain of Australia’s one-day international and Test teams after arriving home on Tuesday ...

read more »

England take no chances with Bresnan
England are taking no chances with the fitness of Tim Bresnan who has had a precautionary scan on his ...

read more »